Self-Initiation

A Movement-Based party Uniting the Will of All

Movement-Based party as an Extension of Social Activism

To encourage self-motivation in social movements in the popular community and to strengthen interactions across all sectors in civil society, Demosistō shall develop a brand new platform for self-initiated political discussion among citizens. By uniting the will of all, we shall extend social activism to a whole new level of politics - we are forming a movement-based party.

First: Establishing a Petition System

Current political parties have failed to establish a close linkage with the public. Many of them believe that initiating social movements is not of their concern, or stick with top-down operations lacking effective mobilisation of talents in the popular community. Mainstream parties hold massive resources, yet fail to convert the power of such resources into the hands of civil society, marginalising themselves from social movements. This, we believe, is why the general masses of Hong Kong are often distanced from these parties.

In light of this, Demosistō proposes the establishment of a petition system, providing a channel for direct communication between citizens of the popular community and party members. We want to listen to your voices on an equal footing, because we believe that what a party must do is to stand side by side with citizens and to promote actual changes in civil society, rather than working for the sole sake of a seat in parliament.

Through transparent petitioning procedures, the general masses can initiate petitions from a bottom-up approach, spurring political discussion, exploring new ideas, and forming common goals together. We promise that once your petitions reach a sufficient amount of support, we will formally address your concerns, and might even bring your opinions into the Legislative Council. By directly bringing voices of the popular community into the movement-based party, the power of the masses can be effectively extended into the realm of parliamentary politics

Next: Public Proposal for Civic Actions and Cross-Sector Organisation

Beyond petitioning, bottom-up approaches by the power of the masses shall also be applied in many issues through public proposals for civic actions and cross-sector organisation.

By public proposal, we mean that the general public shall be able to directly initiate and offer their own proposals of social changes through a crowd-sourcing platform. These proposals, no matter concerning major institutional issues or petty district affairs, shall all be self-initiated and determined by the popular community, in which all who propose shall have the crowd-given power to organise district, social and political movements for themselves. Through this, we can create a whole new wave of democratic power-building, and abolish the sole reliance of a top-down structure of social mobilisation.

Citizens of different sectors and professions can help each other in the formation of civic proposals, and the movement-based party shall facilitate citizens of diverse skills and knowledge to engage in proposals requiring respective assistance. Depending on circumstances and the content of proposals, even the district offices of our elected representatives can be converted into publicly shared working areas. We want to bring your voices from the virtual world of the Internet to the actual field of district matters and parliamentary issues. As long as you are willing to propose, we shall help you become your own organisers of your own social movements.

A Bridge Between the Political Field and Civil Society

Demosistō believes that the power of parliament and its members should not be limited to the hall of conference. Rather, what a party, a movement-based party must do, is to build up a close relationship with civil society, supporting civil participation in social affairs as well as assisting the masses by resistance in parliament. With the mutual assistance of civil society and the movement-based party, we can cooperate in enacting self-initiated reforms and in bringing about real social change.

Back to Top

Self-Standing

Shaping the Character of Hong Kong and Embracing Multiplicity

The Character of Hong Kong: We Embrace Multiplicity

Demosistō believes that defining the character of Hong Kong relies neither on the superiority nor inferiority of specific groups of people. Rather, it is constructed by society as a whole along with its historical background, humanitarian values and common experiences of citizens. All these features form our conception of the unique character of the city, bringing us together with a sense of belonging.

We believe that difference in ethnicity does not come into conflict with our conception of local protection and resistance. Crises of our national identities develop, rather, due to the fact that the performance of our current government has shown never Hong-Kong-oriented, and always ignoring the legitimate rights and the basic dignities of Hong Kongers, without any effort of building a free and democratic system for us to choose our own future pathways. What we have to do is to re-grasp our bargaining power by constructing an analysis of Hong Kong’s present and an imagination of its future based on our historical experiences, and liberate ourselves from the dictating, imperialistic governance of the CPC, without falling into the emotionally-appealing trap of populism that divides among "us" and "them" based on nationality.

To resolve deep conflicts from the roots, we must re-evaluate the complications in society, and deliberate the city from its colonialistic ideology. Movements for embracing multiplicity - from gender equality and labourer interests to humanitarian education policies - can be wider spread among the masses only by cross-sector collaborations, focusing our aim on those in hold of oppressive political power, rather than having such movements divided and suppressed by differences in ethnicity or national identity.

The China Factor

In face of the China factor, it is insensible for us to let be and to only concern with what is within our own borders. As a Hong-Kong-oriented organisation, Demosistō shall strive to convert the China factor into a driving force for local democratic development. For instance, in helping immigrants adapt to our civil society, we propose more opportunities for them to learn about our history and culture. We propose that the government support more local organisations in opening related programmes for permanent Hong Kong residents of social minorities, so as to resolve cultural conflicts from the roots.

Since the city became open for trade, the local history of Hong Kong has been, no matter before or after the Handover, constantly dwarfed and marginalised in curriculums. We propose that the local history of Hong Kong be fairly evaluated and educated to the public, so as to let all citizens gain a deeper understanding of their own origins and form a fuller picture of their past, present and future. Only this can help us all build a consciousness of the unique character of Hong Kong and raise the awareness for more Hong-Kongers to stand up and protect the city.

Back to Top

Autonomy

A Vision of Multiplicity, and a Politics of Progressiveness

The autonomy of Hong Kong can never be achieved by a single referendum, and can never be genuine if it ignores the social and economic autonomy of the city. What Demosistō stands for, is not a narrow view of political autonomy, but a realisable imagination of Hong Kong as a city of justice and multiplicity.

Under the domination of the CPC as well as that of local economic hegemonies, Hong Kong has been suffering under conservative policies of the government for more than a decade. Our socio-economic and political systems have only been protecting the interests of the privileged class, and the livelihood of the general public has constantly been ignored. For instance, while our Gini Coefficient has been ranking first within the developed world in previous decades, our government has remained unwilling to provide more social protection to those who are suffering, despite having a fiscal surplus of billions of dollars every year.

To reclaim our autonomy, not only that in a political sense, but also in terms of the basic dignities and standards of living of the people, Demosistō shall stand up for the value of multiplicity and social progressiveness - up for multiplicity as to protect the vulnerable, including sexual minorities and the youth in society; and up for progressive policies, as to urge the government to take up their responsibility to offer social protection to all people in need.

The foundation of politics of progressiveness builds upon the joining forces of different activists, overcoming differences among ethnicities, genders and generations, as we unite as the people of Hong Kong, fighting for a fair and just future. Such politics shall not be a passive resistance against systemic violence, but an active and advancing social and political movement, standing on a combination of civic action and policy advocacy.

To reclaim our autonomy and to fight for progressive social policies, it is essential for us to stand firmly against the government through social and political struggle, both inside and outside the Legislative Council. By cooperating with civic and public discourse as well as policy suggestions of related issues, it would become possible for us to push for better reforms for our society.

Reimagining our Future - "Charter of Hong Kong"

Another perspective on our project of cultivating the autonomy of Hong Kong concerns the Basic Law, i.e. the constitutional document of Hong Kong. Due to the lack of legitimacy of the Basic Law, such constitutional framework would be inappropriate in the discussion of the Second Question of Hong Kong. In order to regain our autonomy, it is essential for the people of Hong Kong to discuss and form a consensus on our future social, economic and political arrangements after 2047.

Our project to formulate a "Charter of Hong Kong" aims to reimagine the future of Hong Kong, and to reshape its constitutional order through means of deliberative democracy. In the Charter, institutional arrangements concerning the autonomy of Hong-Kongers shall be discussed, and this project shall act as a base for discourses and proposals for future referendums.

Back to Top

Self-Determination

Determining Our Own Future through Democracy

In the 1997 negotiation on the future of the city, Hong-Kongers were forced voiceless, ever since enduring the distresses brought by birdcage politics. This time, in face of our upcoming "Second Question of Hong Kong", we shall stand up for our own say.

It is clearly stated in the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights that "all peoples have the right of self-determination. By virtue of that right they freely determine their political status and freely pursue their economic, social and cultural development." Yet, being crossed out from the UN’s list of colonies due to the PRC’s proclamation of Hong Kong as its territory, our right of self-determination was wiped off. The Question of Hong Kong was thus negotiated between only two parties: the UK and the PRC, turning down our hopes for determining our own future.

It had been the optimistic wishes of Hong-Kongers to interact well with the Central Government, hoping that the principles of "Hong Kong people ruling Hong Kong" and "High Degree of Autonomy" would be safely upheld. What resulted was continual disappointment. Repeated atrocities (such as the NPCSC’s dictating interpretations of the Basic Law and the suspicious missings of Hong-Kongers within the city’s borders) have led us to realise that we were all fooled by the PRC and that the fantasy of "One Country, Two Systems" was mere delusion. Hong Kong, in reality, is on the hard-to-return path of "One Country, One System", its government utterly authoritative and distrusted by the people.

Demosistō believes that, to liberate ourselves from the birdcage now and to take hold of our own fate, we must change the rules and re-grasp our political agenda through democratic self-determination. Through democracy, we must put together the opinions of Hong-Kongers on their wishes after "remaining unchanged for 50 years", and launch a ten-year project of organising a "Charter of Hong Kong", reshaping a new, self-governing constitution and socio-political order for the city. Considering the "deadline" of the Second Question of Hong Kong in the near 2047, it is our estimate that by 2030, we must start with the deliberation, and fight for our own say on the question of the city’s sovereignty.

It is our vision that the Second Question of Hong Kong shall be put up for negotiation after 14 years. It is time for citizens of Hong Kong to come up with a consensus in society on our future aims, and fight for our own initiative power as well as international support. Demosistō establishes democratic self-determination as its ultimate mission, and sets goals of popular referendum and international urge for the support of the world, pushing for the self-determination of Hong Kong to rise as an agenda in the international realm of politics. Hong-Kongers must have a say on our own future pathways, and must retain our own rights of self-determination.

Back to Top

自發

群眾自發 連結民間

香港眾志深信靈活組織乃抗爭之基礎,我們將發展獨特的參與平台,讓民間自發籌備社區活動和社會運動,強化公民社會的跨界互動。由公民動員成就眾人之事,建設平等公義的多元城市,聚眾之志,運動型政黨就是社運的延伸。

第一步:重訂政黨機制 公民聯署參與

一般群眾對現有政黨敬而遠之,需歸因於政黨之封閉。普通市民甚至黨員,缺乏途徑直接了解政黨核心立場,更遑論左右其取態。今天尚有不少政黨中人認為策動社運「責不在我」,或因循由上而下的動員操作,缺乏階梯於民間行動中招才納賢,結果坐擁大量資源的主流政黨與民間團體,終未能把議席資源轉化為在地的公民力量,議員和政團則一而再在運動中被邊緣化。

因此,香港眾志倡議創立「公民聯署」,打開市民直接與政黨溝通的渠道,聆聽市民的聲音,以平等的對話凝聚民氣與民力。我們認為,政黨必須與民並肩,以行動推動公民社會變革,而非僅為奪取議席而活。

透過公開、透明的聯署程序,群眾由下而上發起「公民聯署」,並投入網上商討,集思廣益,凝聚共識。政黨在提案取得足夠聯署支持後必須回應民間訴求,甚至代表聯署群眾在立法會提出動議。當民間聲音可直接傳達至運動型政黨的決策機關,群眾的力量由代議士延伸到政治層面,這種基礎互動,打破政黨與政治素人的隔閡,亦讓政黨能夠持續貼近公民社會,相互學習,共同成長。

下一步:公民提案 政團接力 跨界組織

初階的聯署參與,既可成為民意指標,亦可視為議員與民間的良性溝通;進階至各專業議題,更可由公民提案,跨界組織成事,賦權民間,促成改變。

「公民提案」可由一般市民就各種政治訴求和議題,發起能實踐其理想願景的提案。這是一種政策倡議的群眾自發提案(crowd-sourcing)平台,提案上至政制,下至區域民生,全由民間自決。當群眾自發成為民主陣營的風潮,矢志成為運動型政黨的我們,將摒棄單單依賴由上而下的政黨動員結構,提案者皆可充權成為社區、社會和政治運動的組織者。

擁有不同專業和文化實力的政治素人,可與提案者串連互補;與此同時,運動型政黨將協助不同的人材,投入各個提案。因應提案需要,議員地區辦事處更可轉化為共享工作間,讓提案和協作者從網絡虛擬世界走進社區據點,轉化議會資源,組織各種項目倡議和社區營造。由社區公民自主改進在地議題,實踐社區民主,只要你願意成為提案者,就可以成為下場群眾運動的組織者。

群眾運動 政黨與民同行

誠然,香港當下的半民主議會制度,對議員權力有莫大限制。但透過公民聯署、公民提案、與社區自發政策倡議這三種遞進的公民參與互相配合,運動型政黨將能夠結合議會內外的力量,與民同行,為香港政壇和公民社會開托新的可能。

香港眾志決意築起政治和公民社會的橋樑,因為我們深信議會、議員的力量不止於會議廳,政黨必須與民間運動緊密連結,支援公民參與,配以議會抗爭,讓市民能與政團同步主動介入政策制訂,內外夾擊政權,實踐政策倡議。

在地抗爭,還政於民,不為權勢所屈,正是香港眾志為政之道。矢志成為取信於民的運動型政黨,只願向我城證明 :政黨本應與時俱進,與群眾站在同一陣線。

返回最頂

自立

香港本位 多元身份

香港,我城。我城的意思是城中有我,我中有城;香港人,從來不把香港當作跳板,亦不把自己視作過客。我們相信,只有以香港為本位的自主選擇、自立意識,才能有所意思。我們不必困囿於前人的政治框架、不須借用台式主體論述、毋用因潮流使然高呼「本土」,因為我們一直追求的,是那份理應心安理得的歸屬感。

我城最獨特之處正是兼容並包,卻不失恆動的創新靈活。廣東人的敢作敢為、四方客的變化多姿,無論你是來自何方,只要活出我城的身份,自能視香港為吾鄉。

香港,貴在靈活多元

香港人的身份認同,是動者恆動的思潮。過百年華洋集處、幾度南來避秦的人潮,正正孕育香港獨特的文化土壤及生活經驗,這種可貴的靈動難以用單一標準自設藩籬。香港本位,並非透過樹立及敵視任何群體而立,而是從香港的歷史、歷來大小抗爭、人文價值、共同經歷積厚成香港人的歸屬感,建立自己一套地道的社會想像與話語權。

香港人的身份認同複雜多變,但不離其宗是以自公民權、價值觀以及情感三者相互交錯構建。公民權,是指合法住滿七年,即為香港永久居民,可享政府提供予公民的服務、福利及有權履行公民責任;價值觀,是跨越膚色、種族、居住年期與出身,身為香港人一同擁抱公民社會核心價值;在地情感,是指與我城同喜同悲、與我城的社群和歷史緊密結連,願為我城前途福祉一同奮鬥。香港人的身份認同,從來都以多樣姿態交織扎根。

自由、民主之基本秩序必然包含人性尊嚴。一個香港人,擁抱核心價值以及熱愛香港,也同時可以有多元的身份認同。能操廣東話的印度裔、澳洲裔演員;祖上三代在新界務農的外姓圍村人;在米線店鄉音未改卻知你喜好的店員,於習俗、膚色、種族之上,在一己崗位盡善,腳踏實地定居我城,活出自重與尊嚴,他們都是真正的香港人。

不同的出身,與在地的抗爭思潮未必抵觸。正因為現有制度從來不以香港為本,無視香港人理應享有活出我城尊嚴的權利,沒有決志將香港建立為自由、民主及足以選擇我城未來前途的政制,各種「中港矛盾」、「國族矛盾」及身份認同危機才在不安中滋長。從我城的歷史及抗爭經驗中,建立對香港現況及未來的想像,擺脫中共由上而下的天朝主義,不跌入民粹主導的民族群分敵我之爭,香港人才能重掌自主我城的話語權。

要從根本解決香港種種矛盾,必須重新審視社會內部的文化衝突、階級問題、性別意識等等,才能真正將我城從殖民思想解放出來,還香港人一個真正的香港。多元的抗爭運動,從爭取性別平權、勞工權益,到共融政策、人本的教育改革,每個社會運動都一環接一環,唯有指向政權,跨界結合香港各人之力,才能將抗爭的理念在群眾中落地生根。多元的公民運動發展不應被國族認同所分隔甚至壓迫。

中國因素:不卑不亢不逃避

面對中國因素,放任排拒、劃地為牢是一種不智的逃避。身為一個以香港為本位的團體,香港眾志會不卑不亢,將其轉化成更有利本港民主發展的助力。以新移民為例,我們提倡香港應自設審批機制,在未能重奪移民審批權前,借用行政力量更嚴謹處理每個個案。同時,我們亦要發揮公民社會的力量,使來港移民更能認識本地歷史,學習在地文化,融入本港公民社會。我們倡議政府支援更多民間團體,積極開辦融入課程予所有永久居港的少數群體,真正從根本調解各地文化差異。

自「開埠」以來,香港史不論回歸前後皆被置於矮化、被邊緣的位置。中小學生無法從體制教育中對香港有全面的認識,成人亦因循成見,缺乏對自我身份的反思:香港人從那裡來?今日立足何處?未來應何去何從?這三問,正是以香港本位作民主自決的重要根基。因此,香港眾志提倡香港史正直公正的檢討、求證與教育,以促進大眾對香港、對自身的理解;從祖上、父輩、及至同儕、下一代各異又相通的本地情感連繫,有過去、當下與未來脈絡的身份認同,才能建構紥實的香港意識,令更多人一起守護香港。

香港本位,既爭朝夕,亦建未來。香港地理上雖小,但卻因香港人而強大。

返回最頂

自主

政經自主 進步政治

「命運自主」所隱含的,是追求自主生活的政治。香港眾志爭取的,不單是在狹隘政治層面上的「自立、自主、自決」,更要保障港人生活尊嚴、捍衛應有權利,令港人掙脫當權者銬上的枷鎖,立足我城。

建構我城願景:多元、進步、民本

香港政權為保障既得利益階層,不惜犧牲港人福祉,不斷從政治、經濟、文化各層面壓迫港人,逼迫市民瑟縮在政權劃下的小囚牢,無法從各種限制中掙脫出來。香港眾志所追求的,是一個使民眾享有真正民主自由的社會變革,改變以往只保障既得利益者的社會管治。「以民為本」,是香港眾志極力爭取的願景:我們應當享有更進步、更公義的政策,打破生活及政治上的不公不義。

由是,港人對我城的想像,不應停留於政治實體、政治制度的討論,更應擴展至更多元的城市願景,思考香港在各方面的理想發展。城市如何擺脫天朝式的壓逼,擺脫官商之間的勾結合謀,如何自主發展及保障港人的尊嚴及權利,亦是現今社會最為核心的問題。

多元運動並進 提倡進步政治 以民為本變革

進步政治,源自超越族群、性別、世代、議題的合作,連結各種活躍的反抗力量,建立屬於「香港人」的主體,並為共同、公平公義的社會願景而奮鬥。官商勾結、基建超支、漠視社福、縱容丁權、施政封閉、貪腐猖獗、濫用警權等,港府之罪狀,罄竹難書。政府坐擁千億盈餘,仍封建守舊,不願善財而治,訂定更好的醫療、教育、扶貧、安老政策,任由市民繼續受財團剝削,苦不堪言。要解決因制度暴力而滋生的貧富懸殊、族群對立、性傾向歧視等等問題,我們必須集眾人之志,直指社會問題核心,轉守為攻,以具體政策倡儀、民間行動,導正政經,扶持我城。香港眾志深信,以下的兩個方向,是重奪屬於香港的自主的必經之路:

倡議配合抗爭 議會反守為攻

進步而多元的社會政策,是港人自主生活的先決條件。進步,在於政府願意承擔保障整體社會福祉的責任,建立有效均富限權的社會體制;多元,在於基於人權和自由的保障,確保弱勢如青年、性小眾、新移民等不受不公對待,喪失自主生活的能力。達致以上願景,我們需要議會內外的抗爭配合,轉守為攻,例如透過全面的拉布,再配合民間的政策倡議論述,進一步迫使政府讓步並提出進步的政策。

制定香港約章 重新構想未來

《基本法》欠奉正當性,更承襲殖民地時期的保守發展觀,實在難以盛載我城的理想願景。故此,在談及二次前途問題絕不能只談公投自決機制,亦應讓港人集體商討未來如何構建一個更平等、開放、公義的的社經結構。

在十年公投制憲的過程中,應從香港本位出發,透過全民共議《香港約章》,針對香港各層面的議題及架構作完整討論,重新規劃港人對2047年後政治、司法、公共財政、經濟、人口和產業等各個範疇的發展藍圖,解決缺乏單程證審批權、議員提案不得涉及公帑等等限制港人自主的制度。

想像屬於港人的生活方式,重構香港的憲政秩序,才能達致追求自主生活的政治,重奪政經自主,守衛我城每人的尊嚴。

返回最頂

自決

民主自決 香港前途

九七前途談判,港人被迫缺席,換來鳥籠政治的永恆纏擾;二次前途問題,港人不甘缺席,不願再次斷送我城未來於一代人手中。

聯合國《公民權利和政治權利國際公約》列明:「所有人民都有自決權。他們憑這種權利自由決定他們的政治地位,並自由謀求他們經濟、社會和文化的發展。」可惜,中華人民共和國在七零年代初加入聯合國,堅稱香港是其領土,終令聯合國在殖民地名單剔除香港,使港人喪失自決前途權利。中英兩國繼而否決「三腳櫈」方案,港人自決前途的大門再次關上。

曾經,我們期盼中央政府與港人良性互動,按照《中英聯合聲明》落實港人治港和高度自治。最終,港人失望而回,醒覺一切承諾只是一紙空談:人大釋法、一國兩制白皮書落閘、硬推中港融合、港人在港被失蹤,一次又一次顯示一國兩制實為破滅,只淪為中共愚弄港人的劇本。香港,儼然「被」走上一國一制的軌道,踏上不歸途。政權失信於民、濫權專制,中共逐步收緊香港自治空間,管治方針愈趨保守,政改落實真普選成鏡花水月。三十年的民主運動面臨嚴峻困局:民主回歸破產,民運進程失焦。

普選夢碎,一國兩制失效,依循現有政改框架路線圖,最終換來侮辱港人的鳥籠普選。要改變香港命運,先要擺脫既定規則:以「民主自決」重新掌握香港政治議程,不再因循依戀官方政改議程,革新民主運動的總體路線。自決運動聚焦於香港「五十年不變」後的政治地位,期望以民主方式整合港人意願,輔以勾勒香港願景的《香港約章》整輯香港憲法,推動香港整體社會變革,阻止社會沉淪腐朽。在九七前途問題時,基於地契地租等問題,中英兩國早於1982年磋商香港主權移交詳情;換言之,面對2047年二次前途問題,我們需早在2030年展開商討以及施壓,爭取港人在主權問題的自決權利。

14年後,二次前途問題將正式擱在國際談判桌上,香港2047年後的主權以及社經狀況,便等桌上人發落。港人欲於此爭取主動權,必須及早出擊,凝聚社會共識,獲得國際支持。因此,香港眾志訂定「民主自決」作為我們的最高綱領,繼承雨傘運動「命運自主」的時代呼喚,引領我城走出淪為附庸的窘境,為我城尋覓出路。前路未定,香港眾志定必奮力扭轉局面,透過全民公投和國際游說,爭取世界各國和聯合國認同,令「港人自決」晉身國際政治議程,使香港人能夠在我城前途問題上佔一席位,享有國際法下的自決權利。

唯有民主自決,港人方能當家作主。香港眾志將與港人並肩,直至我們共同的理想於香港植根茁壯。

返回最頂